Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau

NBI Modernization Act awaits President Aquino’s signature
Writer: Noelle Andrea Padrones, Media Affairs and Public Relations Service
20 June 2016 09:09:05 AM

The proposed National Bureau of Investigation Modernization Act has finally reached the Office of the President last Thursday and is already waiting for approval into law before President Aquino’s term ends on June 30, 2016.

House Bill 5855, authored by re-elected Rep. Evelina Escudero (1st District, Sorsogon) and outgoing Rep. Rufus Rodriguez (2nd District, Cagayan de Oro City), seeks to expand the structure, capability and manpower of the NBI to meet the increasing demands of investigative and detective work.

The bill also intends to modernize the facilities and intelligence devices, establishment of forensic and scientific laboratories and training of NBI personnel.

The NBI shall prioritize cases like human trafficking, extrajudicial killings, Cybercrime Prevention Act violations, Anti-dummy Law violations, threats to security or assaults against the persons of the President, Vice President, Senate President, House Speaker and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

It shall also tackle syndicate related cases, mass fatality caused by natural disasters and commercial, economic and financial crimes.

The organizational structure of the NBI office shall also be reorganized as part of the enhancement program within the Bureau.

Thirty percent of the funds coming from the collections of NBI clearance fees will be used for the Bureau’s modernization for three years but shall not exceed annual appropriation of P150,000,000.

Moreover, NBI employees who are exposed to danger while on duty may also get hazard pay amounting to P4,000 per month.

HB 5855 repeals 1947’s Republic Act 157, amends 1960’s Republic Act 2678 and Executive Order 292 or the Administrative Code of 1987.

Other authors of the bill include re-elected Reps. Karlo Alexei Nograles (1st District, Davao del Sur), Ann Hofer (2nd District, Zamboanga Sibugay), Alfred Vargas (5th District, Quezon City), Rene Relampagos (1st District, Bohol), Rodel Batocabe (Partylist, AKO BICOL) and Gus Tambunting (2nd District, Parañaque).