Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau

Solons ready to file quality bills starting July 4
Writer: Lorelei V. Castillo, Media Affairs and Public Relations Service
27 June 2016 07:42:06 AM

Members of the incoming 17th Congress have already shown their diligence and dynamism in performing one of their main legislative tasks which is the filing of bills and resolutions for possible enactment into law which will benefit the people.

Per House rules, the Bills and Index Service will begin accepting bills and resolutions from individual House members on July 4, 2016. Lawmakers, however, are already prepared with their proposed measures while their staff are merely awaiting the filing schedule to start.

So far, 82 congressmen have manifested to file bills and resolutions, and the list includes both veteran and neophyte lawmakers.

First on the list is returning Rep. Rozanno Rufino Biazon (Lone District, Muntinlupa City).

Biazon is followed on the list by fellow veteran lawmakers Reps. Reynaldo Umali (2nd District, Oriental Mindoro), Raul Del Mar (1st District, Cebu City), Karlo Alexei Nograles (1st District, Davao City), Alfred Vargas III (5th District, Quezon City), Emmeline Aglipay-Villar (Party-list, DIWA), Kaka Bag-ao (Lone District, Dinagat Island), Antonio Tinio (Party-list, Act Teachers), Alfredo Benitez (3rd District, Negros Occidental), Bai Sandra Sema (1st District, Maguindanao and Cotabato City), Angelina Tan (4th District, Quezon), Gary Alejano (Party-list, Magdalo), Teddy Baguilat (Lone District, Ifugao), Romero Federico Quimbo (2nd District, Marikina City), Pedro Acharon, Jr. (1st District, South Cotabato), Gus Tambunting (2nd District, Parañaque City), Rodel Batocabe (Party-list, Ako Bikol), Victoria Noel (Party-list, An Waray), Ma. Lourdes Acosta-Alba (1st District, Bukidnon), Joseph Stephen Paduano (Party-list, Abang Lingkod), Arnel Ty (Party-list, LPGMA), Jose Christopher Belmonte (6th District, Quezon City), Josephine Ramirez-Sato (Lone District, Occidental Mindoro), Eric Olivarez (1st District, Parañaque City), Anthony Bravo (Party-list, COOP-NATCCO), Frederick Abueg (2nd District, Palawan), Linabelle Ruth Villarica (4th District, Bulacan), Rogelio Neil Roque ( 4th District, Bukidnon), Eric Singson ( 2nd District, Ilocos Sur), Rodante Marcoleta (Party-list, Alagad), Jorge Almonte (1st District, Misamis Occidental), Bellaflor Angara-Castillo (Lone District, Aurora), Gabriel Bordado, Jr. 3rd District, Camarines Sur), Rogelio Espina (Lone District, Biliran), Roy Loyola (5th District, Cavite), Emi Calixto-Rubiano (Lone District, Pasay City), Maximo Dalog (Lone District, Mountain Province), Estrellita Suansing (1st District, Nueva Ecija), Abdullah Dimaporo (2nd District, Lanao del Norte), Seth Frederick Jalosjos (1st District, Zamboanga del Norte), Gwendolyn Garcia (3rd District, Cebu), Marlyn Primicias-Agabas (6th District, Pangasinan), Xavier Jesus Romualdo (Lone District, Camiguin), Carlos Isagani Zarate (Party-list, Bayan Muna), Maximo Rodriguez, Jr. (Party-list, Abamin), Maria Carmen Zamora (1st District, Compostela Valley), Robert Ace Barbers (2nd District, Surigao del Norte), Edcel Lagman (1st District, Albay), Rosenda Ann Ocampo (6th District, Manila), Jose Panganiban Jr. (Party-list, ANAC-IP), Napoleon Dy (3rd District, Isabela), Rodrigo Abellanosa (2nd District, Cebu City), Tobias Tiangco (Lone District, Navotas City) and Rose Marie Arenas (3rd District, Pangasinan).

Among the newcomers on the list are Reps. Ruwel Peter Gonzaga (2nd District, Compostela Valley), Pia Juliana Cayetano (2nd District, Taguig City), Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado (1st District, Bulacan), Tricia Nicole Catera (Party-list, AMA), Carlito Marquez (Lone District, Aklan), Aniceto John Bertiz (Party-list, ACTS OFW), Manuel Luis Lopez (1st District, Manila), Micaela Violago (2nd District, Nueva Ecija), Francisco Jose Matugas (1st District, Surigao del Norte), Luis Raymond Villafuerte, Jr. (2nd District, Camarines Sur), Greg Gasataya (Lone District, Bacolod City), Michael John Duavit (1st District, Rizal), Marquez Go (Lone District, Baguio City), Michael Romero (Party-list 1-Pacman), Eric Pineda (Party-list, 1-Pacman), Mohamad Khalid Dimaporo (1st District, Lanao del Norte), Dale Gonzalo Malapitan (1st District, Caloocan City), Tomasito Villarin (Party-list, Akbayan), Ariel Casilao (Party-list, Anakpawis), Victor Yap (2nd District, Tarlac), Geraldine Roman (1st District, Bataan), Ramon Rocamora (Lone District, Siquijor), Jose Enrique Garcia III (2nd District, Bataan), Allen Jesse Mangaoang (Lone District, Kalinga), Rogelio Pacquiao (Lone District, Sarangani) and Harlin Neil Abayon III (Party-list, Aangat Tayo).

A queue of chairs bearing the names of lawmakers, who intend to file bills and resolutions, has been in place at the south wing lobby of the House of the Representatives since about three weeks ago.

Terence Grana, chief of the Indexing and Monitoring Group of the Bills and Index Service said the lawmakers’ staff members have agreed among themselves that for the initial round of filing, each lawmaker can submit five bills and two resolutions. The lawmakers can then file additional measures thereafter.

“The standing procedure in the filing of bills and resolutions is first-come, first-served. Queuing for the filing of bills is not sanctioned by us. It was an arrangement made by the lawmakers’ staff members among themselves,” said Grana.

As in the past Congresses, the bill filing this 17th Congress is expected to produce quality proposals which may eventually be enacted into new laws for the benefit of the people.

Many returning lawmakers had vowed to re-file worthy proposals that did not make it in the 16th Congress mainly due to material lack of time. These include proposals about income tax reform, public order and security, better national and local governance, wage hike, conditional cash transfer institutionalization, better health and other social services, among others.