Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau

House approves the National Health Research System bill
Writer: Jazmin S. Camero, Media Relations Service-PRIB
24 January 2013 09:36:51 AM

The House of Representatives has approved on third and final reading a measure seeking to institutionalize the Philippine National Health Research System (PNHRS).

The authors of House Bill 6735 are Reps. Juan Edgardo Angara (Lone District, Aurora), Joseph Emilio Abaya (1st District, Cavite), Angelo Palmones (Party-list, Agham), Lani Mercado-Revilla (2nd District, Cavite), Rufus Rodriguez (2nd District, Cagayan de Oro City) and Maximo Rodriguez, Jr. (Party-list, Abante Mindanao).

Angara said it is important to build the country's capability for research and development because it can fuel the necessary innovation that will lead to a responsive and efficient health care system.

"The country must provide for a favorable research environment wherein government agencies, non-government organizations, public and private hospitals, academic institutions and private agencies can optimize their research activities," Angara said.

Palmones said the PNHRS is a framework of cooperation and resource sharing of the core agencies and stakeholders in health research anchored on the principles of inclusiveness, participation, quality, equity, efficiency and effectiveness.

"The bill will promote good governance in research towards high performing and ethical health research organizations and to establish a realistic system that shall strengthen national and international networking partnerships for health research development," Palmones said.

Under the measure, the PNHRS is institutionalized within the mandate of the Philippine Council for health Research and Development (PCHRD), the national coordinating body for health research.

The PNHRS was initiated through a Memorandum of Understanding between the Department of Science and Technology and the Department of Health in 2003 and 2007.

The regional health research system shall be created in all regions and will address concerns relating to health research agenda, development of human resource in health research, conduct of researches, dissemination of research results, research utilization, resource mobilization, leadership and management.

The DOST - Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (DOST-PCHRD), Department of Health (DOH), Commission on Higher Education (CHED) and the University of the Philippines, Manila-National Institutes of Health (UPM-NIH) shall promulgate the implementing rules and regulations of under the proposed act.

Other authors of the bill are Reps. Maranon III, Romeo Acop (2nd District, Antipolo), Randolph Ting ((3rd District, Cagayan), Deogracias Ramos, Jr. (2nd District, Sorsogon), Philip A. Pichay (1st District, Surigao del Sur), Eufranio Eriguel (2nd District, La Union), Monique Yazmin Lagdameo (1st District, Makati City), Imelda Calixto Rubiano (Lone District, Pasay City), Daisy Fuentes (2nd District, South Cotabato), Romero Federico Quimbo (2nd District, Marikina City), Benhur Salimbangon (4th District, Cebu), Herminia Roman (1st District, Bataan), Anthony Rolando Golez, Jr. (Lone District, Bacolod City), Mary Mitzi Cajayon (2nd District, Caloocan City), Linabelle Ruth Villarica (4th District, Bulacan), Irvin Alcala (2nd District, Quezon), Susan Yap (2nd District, Tarlac), Ma. Carmen Zamora (1st District, Compostela Valley), Jeci Lapus (3rd District, Tarlac), Bernadette Herrera-Dy (Party-list, Bagong Henerasyon), Jane Castro (2nd District, Capiz), and Ako Bicol Party-list Reps. Alfredo Garbin, Jr., Christopher Co and Rodel Batocabe.