Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau

House OKs bill setting 1st Monday of August as line workers day
21 March 2023 11:10:07 PM

THE House of Representatives on Tuesday gave its final nod to a bill declaring every first Monday of August as the “National Line Workers Appreciation Day” to recognize the service and important role of electric line workers in the country’s development.

The chamber approved on third reading House Bill (HB) No. 7426 with an overwhelming 282 votes.

“Without our hardworking electric line workers, economic growth and development will not be possible. This legislation is a simple way to show our appreciation to our line workers who tirelessly serve us so that our country will enjoy a reliable supply of electricity wherever we are,” Speaker Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez said.

“We acknowledge the role of all electrical line workers in attaining sustainable rural development through total electrification of the countryside. They deserve to receive recognition and honor every year for their crucial contribution to our nation,” he added.

Section 4 of the proposed legislation mandates the National Electrification Administration (NEA) to spearhead the conduct of an annual national convention during the National Line Workers Appreciation Day.

Other activities such as lecture sessions for line workers, trainings, seminars, and other learning sessions will also be conducted in coordination with stakeholders in the power industry including electric cooperatives, National Grid Corporation of the Philippines, National Transmission Corporation, Private Electric Power Operators Association, Manila Electric Company and other organizations employing line workers.

The Department of Energy and private distribution utilities including power transmission companies and telecommunications companies are also enjoined to launch activities for line workers.

Representatives Sergio Dagooc, Luis Raymund Villafuerte, Miguel Villafuerte, Tsuyoshi Horibata, Nicholas Enciso VIII, Lord Allan Jay Velasco, Arnie Fuentebella, Ambrocio Cruz, Gerardo Valmayor Jr., Zia Adiong, Francisco Ortega, Jurdin Romualdo, Rosanna Vergara, Felimon Espares, Kristine Singson-Meehan, David Suarez, Dan Fernandez, Ray Reyes, Mario Mariño, Anna Veloso-Tuazon, Antonio Legarda Jr., Isidro Lumayag, Mercedes Alvarez, Gerville Luistro, Raoul Danniel Manuel, and Presley De Jesus authored HB 7426. (END)