Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau

28 September 2022 11:02:18 PM

The House of Representatives on Wednesday adopted a resolution
honoring the five members of the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction
and Management Office (PDRRMO) Rescue Personnel who perished while
conducting rescue missions during the onslaught of super typhoon

House Resolution No. 421 has recognized the bravery of Narciso Calayag
Jr., Jerson Resurreccion, Marby Bartolome, George Agustin, and Troy
Justin Agustin, who all died performing their duties and saving
people’s lives in Barangay Kamias in San Miguel, Bulacan at the height
of what weather bureaus described as an “explosive” super typhoon.

Speaker Martin G. Romualdez himself was first to condole with the
families and loved ones of the five rescue workers.

“Lubos po tayong nakikiramay sa pamilya ng limang PDRRMO Rescue
Personnel na pumanaw kahapon habang nasa gitna ng rescue operations sa
San Miguel, Bulacan,” Romualdez Speaker said.

“Salamat sa inyong kabayanihan Narciso Calayag Jr., Jerson
Resurreccion, Marby Bartolome, George Agustin, and Troy Justin
Agustin. Today, we honor their lives and we will keep them in our
prayers,” he added.

The resolution was introduced by Romualdez, House Majority Leader and
Zamboanga City Rep. Manuel Jose "Mannix" M. Dalipe, House Minority
Leader and 4Ps party-list Rep. Marcelino Libanan, senior Deputy
Majority Leader and Ilocos Norte Rep. Ferdinand Alexander A. Marcos,
Tingog party-list Reps. Yedda Marie K. Romualdez and Jude A. Acidre

“While in the conduct of their rescue mission, the rescuers were
wading through the flood when a wall collapsed on them and were
dragged away by the raging flood,” the resolution read.

“Because of the strong current of the flash flood that swept all five
rescuers, none of them survived,” it added.

HR 421 was consolidated with 13 other resolutions, namely HR Nos. 414
of Bulacan Rep. Salvador A. Pleyto, 416 of Cavite Rep. Ramon Jolo B.
Revilla III, 427 of Benguet Rep. Eric G. Yap, Davao City Rep. Paolo
“Pulong” Duterte, and ACT-CIS party-list Reps. Edvic Yap, Jeffrey
Soriano, and Jocelyn P. Tulfo, and Quezon City Rep. Ralph Wendel
Tulfo; 428 of Citizens Battle Against Corruption (CIBAC) party-list
Rep. Eduardo “Bro. Eddie” Villanueva, 429 of Bulacan Rep. Ambrosio
Cruz, 432 of Lordan G. Suan, and Misamis Oriental Reps. Christian S.
Unabia and Yevgeny Vincente B. Emano; 435 of Pinuno party-list Rep.
Ivan Howard A. Guintu; 437 of Quezon City Rep. Juan Carlos "Arjo" C.
Atayde, 438 of Bulacan Rep. Lorna C. Silverio, 442 of Parañaque City
Rep. Gus Tambunting, 443 of Deputy Speaker and Batangas Rep. Ralph
Recto, 447 of Bulacan Reps. Danny A. Domingo and Augustina
Dominique "Ditse Tina" C. Pancho; and 450
of Bulacan Reps. Rida Robes and Linabelle Ruth Villarica, Nueva Ecija Rep. Rosanna Ria Vergara, Domingo, Pancho, Silverio, Cruz, and Pleyto.

Super typhoon Karding battered the provinces of Quezon, Aurora,
Zambales, Tarlac and Nueva Ecija, affecting nearby provinces such as
Bulacan and Pampanga, as well as Metro Manila.

“The five rescuers gave their lives in the service of others, thus,
they are worthy of commendation and emulation by all Filipinos as they
exuded heroism, patriotism, bravery and dedication to public service,”
the resolution said.

A copy of the resolution will be furnished to the families left behind
by the five PDRRMO rescue workers.(END)