Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



24 November 2022 05:50:14 PM

The Technical Working Group (TWG) of the Committee on Information and Communications Technology chaired by Navotas City Rep. Tobias Tiangco convened on Thursday to resume deliberation on the draft substitute bill, institutionalizing the transition of the government to e-governance. As defined in the bill, e-governance refers to the use of information and communication technology by the government to enhance the access to and delivery of government services to bring about an efficient, responsive, ethical, accountable and transparent government. In his opening remarks, TWG Chair and Davao Oriental Rep. Cheeno Miguel Almario expressed optimism that the panel would be able to come up soon with a defined and better version of the proposed E-Governance Act. Almario noted that the working draft bill is House Bill 3 authored by Speaker Ferdinand Martin Romualdez. Hence, whatever provision they alter, amend, change or add during the discussion should be based on sound justification. Among the objectives of the bill is to develop electronic government services and processes by defining and identifying the role of the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) in digital information, as well as to promote the use of the Internet and emerging ICT in government agencies to provide citizen-centric government services and improve citizen participation in the government. The bill substituted HBs 277, 1809, 2568, 2683, 2731, 2902, 2963, 2978, 3421, 3563, 3612, 4115, 4137, 4261, 4262, 4499 and 4776. Authors include TINGOG Party-list Rep. Yedda Marie Romualdez, Senior Deputy Majority Leader Ferdinand Alexander Marcos, Deputy Speaker Ralph Recto, Deputy Speaker Kristine Singson-Meehan, Tiangco, and Almario. Present today were representatives from the DICT, Department of Budget and Management (DBM), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Anti-Red Tape Authority (ARTA), National Privacy Commission (NPC), National Telecommunications Commission (NTC), Office of the President, Philippine Statistic Authority (PSA), and the Private Sector Advisory Council (PSAC). The TWG would also tackle foreign inputs in the next meeting.