Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



09 August 2022 05:41:48 PM

The House of Representatives led by Speaker Ferdinand Martin Romualdez on Tuesday organized the Special Committee on Nuclear Energy and elected Rep. Mark Cojuangco (2nd District, Pangasinan) as its chairperson. Composed of 25 members, the newly established panel would be tasked to tackle “all matters directly and principally relating to the policies and programs to the production, utilization, and conservation of nuclear energy, including the development of nuclear power infrastructure, as well as interaction of other energy sources with nuclear energy as a reliable, cost competitive, and environment friendly energy source to ensure energy security consistent with the national interest and the State’s policy of freedom from nuclear weapons.” In his manifestation, Cojuangco explained that nuclear energy is an energy source that is cheap, clean, and reliable regardless of weather conditions. He assured that his committee would do its part in informing the public on the efficiency and benefits of nuclear energy, as well as in crafting measures that could provide for the construction of nuclear power plants in the country. Meanwhile, the House amended the jurisdiction of the Committee on Energy, to read: “All matters directly and principally relating to the exploration, development, utilization or conservation of energy resources, including the development and utilization of alternative and renewable energy sources and the entities involved in energy or power generation, transmission, distribution and supply, excluding nuclear energy and its sources and infrastructures.” Also today, Rep. Emmarie “Lollipop” Ouano-Dizon (Lone District, Mandaue City) was elected as chairperson of the Committee on People’s Participation. The hybrid plenary session was presided over by Deputy Speakers Kristine Singson-Meehan and Vincent Franco “Duke” Frasco.