Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



09 May 2022 09:30:25 PM

The House of Representatives on Monday hosted the initialization of the Consolidation and Canvassing System (CCS) machine that will canvass the Certificates of Canvass (COCs) of votes for president and vice president in the 2022 national elections. Present during the event were Speaker Lord Allan Velasco and Senate President Vicente Sotto III. Speaker Velasco said that as member of Congress, “It is our constitutional mandate to receive and canvass the votes for the two highest leaders of our country, our next president and vice president.” The COCs to be canvassed are from the provinces, cities and overseas. Senate President Sotto said the Constitution further mandates that upon receipt of the COCs, the President of the Senate should, not later than 30 days after the day of election, open all the certificates in the presence of the Senate and of the House of Representatives in joint public session. He said the Congress, upon determination of the authenticity and due execution thereof in the manner provided by law, should canvass the votes and proclaim the winners for president and vice president for the May 9, 2022 elections. Upon the direction of the Senate President, Senate Secretary Myra Marie Villarica gave a summary on the condition of the CCS kit from the time the Commission on Elections transferred its custody to Congress. She said Information Technology representatives of the COMELEC assembled the equipment and undertook testing activities which included the power-up of the computer, the testing of the transmission line and its connection to the printer to ensure the equipment is properly functioning prior to this afternoon’s initialization of the CCS by the Senate President. COMELEC IT Officer Felimon Enrile III confirmed the CCS machine is ready for initialization. Senate President Sotto and Speaker Velasco then proceeded with the initialization of the CCS. Present to witness the process were Majority Leader Martin Romualdez, Senior Deputy Majority Leader Jesus Crispin Remulla, Deputy Speaker Abraham Tolentino, House Secretary General Mark Llandro Mendoza, official representatives of the COMELEC, the lawyers and representatives of the candidates, political parties and citizen arms.