Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



21 October 2021 06:13:56 PM

The House of Representatives led by Speaker Lord Allan Velasco gave tribute and recognition on Thursday to its 58 Secretariat retirees this 2021, in a virtual program entitled “Salamat, Mabuhay.” The figure includes 36 mandatory retirees and 22 optional retirees. The Administrative Department headed by Deputy Secretary-General Dr. Ramon Ricardo Roque, Ceso I, Diplomate, organized and hosted the annual awarding ceremony, the holding of which formed part of the HRep Month 2021 celebration. In his Message, Speaker Velasco thanked the Secretariat retirees, whom he said have painstakingly helped the House stand as a strong pillar of government through the years. Since he became Speaker one year ago, Speaker Velasco bared that he realized more and more the priceless value of the contributions made by the Secretariat to ensure that the legislative mill works continuously. “Without doubt, the long days and nights that you, our retirees, endured… the grit and determination that you have exemplified…and the utmost dedication to public service that you have shown in the full course of your stay here in Batasan, shall always be remembered. Maraming maraming salamat po,” he said. He assured that retirement is definitely not the end for them. “I deeply believe that with every ending, we always welcome a brighter beginning. “Sa ating mga retirees, kayo po ay papasok sa bagong yugto ng inyong mga buhay na kung kailan ay maari na ninyong sulitin at pwedeng pwede na kayong magrelax at magpakaligaya sa tulong ng mga matatamo ninyong benepisyo. Lahat rin naman ng mga benepisyo na yan ay dulot na rin ng walang sawa ninyong paglilngkod sa ating bansa. Patunay po kayo na hindi balakid ang pagod at hirap sa trabaho kung ito’y iaalay natin para sa tagumpay ng ating gobyerno at buong bansang Pilipinas,” Speaker Velasco said. He also personally commended retirees Efren Cortez, the former Committee Secretary of the Committee on Energy, and Perfecto Camero, former head of the Photo Coverage Team of the Media Affairs and Public Relations Service (MAPRS). He said Cortez guided him during his stint as Chairman of the Committee on Energy, while Camero was always dependable in documenting House events. For his part, House Secretary-General Mark Llandro Mendoza thanked the retirees for their valuable contribution to all the successes and accomplishments of the House. Mendoza said the retirees are always welcome to visit the House. “Andito lang po kami, kasama po ninyo si Speaker Velasco, kasama ho ninyo kami at anytime po magsabi lang kayo, handa kaming tumulong,” he said. Meanwhile in her reflection, retiree Junie Grace Cruz, former Supervising Legislative Staff Officer III of the Legislative Research Service, thanked all the leaders of the House, which she proudly and gratefully worked for in the last 33 years. The mandatory retirees will receive a Plaque of Recognition, while the optional retirees will get a Certification of Recognition. They will be given a five-year health care coverage for their 30 exemplary, continuous years of service. Moreover, each retiree will receive a P10,000 cash incentive. The program was hosted by Teelitahros Bianka Hije of the Human Resource Management Service