Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau

House committee organization nears completion
Writer: Ma. Victoria I. Palomar, MRS-PRIB
28 August 2010 09:10:50 AM

The House committee assignments are nearing completion as the House of Representatives confirmed the nomination of several chairpersons and members of the different committees.

Rep. Al Francis C. Bichara (2nd District, Albay) chairs the Committee on Foreign Affairs, which tackles all matters directly and principally relating to the relations of the Philippines with other countries, diplomatic and consular services, the United Nations and its agencies, and other international organizations and agencies. The committee currently has 36 members representing the majority and six (6) members for the minority.

Rep. George Arnaiz (2nd District, Negros Oriental) heads the Committee on Local Government, which has 42 members. Arnaiz headed the same committee in the 14th Congress.

The chairmanship of the Committee on Information and Communications Technology went to first termer Rep. Sigfrido R. Tinga (2nd District, Taguig City). About 45 members for the majority and four (4) from the minority signed up for membership in the committee whose jurisdiction covers all matters directly and principally relating, among others, to computers and communications technologies including but not limited to broadband and access to wired and wireless connectivity to the Internet.

Rep. Emil L. Ong (2nd District, Northern Samar) heads the Committee on Labor and Employment. As committee chairman, Ong is responsible for the advancement and protection of the rights and welfare of workers by holding hearings and investigations to enable the committee to come up with relevant legislation.

Rep. Roger G. Mercado (Lone District, Southern Leyte) is the chairman of the Committee on Transportation that deals with matters relating to land, sea, and air transportation including the establishment, operation, management and regulation of airports, seaports and other mass transportation systems except light and heavy rail systems and roll on-roll off systems. The committee is composed of 71 members including the chairman.

The chairmanship of the Committee on Tourism, which has 43 members, went to Rep. Florencio T. Miraflores (Lone District, Aklan).

Rep. Pablo John F. Garcia (3rd District, Cebu) is the chairman of the 48-man Committee on Public Order and Safety, while Rep. Barzaga (4th District, Cavite) is the chairman of the Committee on Suffrage and Electoral Reforms.

Reps. Teodoro Brawner Baguilat (Lone District, Ifugao), Angelica M. Amante-Matba (2nd District, Agusan del Norte), Arturo B. Robes (Lone District, San Jose del Monte City) and Rep. Tupay T. Loong (1st District, Sulu) head the Committees on National Cultural Communities; Women and Gender Equality; Social Services; and Muslim Affairs respectively.