Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau

House honors Metrobank Foundation’s Outstanding Filipino awardees and founder
11 September 2019 09:00:32 AM

The House of Representatives led by Speaker Alan Peter "Compañero" Cayetano honored the 10 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos of 2019, and the late Dr. George Siao Kian Ty, founder of Metrobank and Metrobank Foundation, for his achievements and contributions as a business leader and philanthropist.

On Monday, legislators adopted House Resolution (HR) No. 9, commending the 10 awardees, and HR No. 10, honoring the achievements of Ty as an outstanding Filipino, philanthropist and business leader, in a session presided by Speaker Cayetano.

In choosing the annual Outstanding Filipinos, the Metrobank Foundation considered the value of going “Beyond Excellence” by raising the bar of excellence in the awardees’ respective fields. The 10 awardees are Dorothy Tarol, Ph.D., Master Teacher II; Cristina Cristobal, Ph.D., Special Science Teacher 5; Ricardo Jose, Ph.D. Professor 12; Eva Maria Cutiongco-Dela Paz, M.D., Professor 10; Master Sergeant Ramil Caporas, Philippine Army; Major Romulo Dimayuga II, Philippine Navy; Lieutenant Colonel John Paul Baldomar, PA; Police Chief Master Sergeant Marsha Agustin, RSW; Police Major Robert Reyes, Technical Support Officer; and Police Colonel Edwin Quilates.

Speaker Cayetano, in his remarks during the recognition rites, said that honoring the Metrobank Foundation’s Outstanding Filipino awardees brings the nation together. “It’s just like watching Manny Pacquiao fight. We forget for a while our differences, we forget for a while the debates and intrigues, to cheer on a person who is fighting for the country. We can do together much more, not only to honor the founder of Metrobank and Metrobank Foundation Dr. George Ty, but also to honor all the awardees since 1984,” he said.

Speaker Cayetano added that the giving of Certificates of Recognition is a sincere gesture on the part of the 300 House Members from all around the country to thank the awardees. He said, “(This is) to just say, maraming, maraming salamat that you could have simply done your best, but you chose to go beyond and to be good stewards of the talents that are given to you.”

In honoring Ty, the House adopted HR 10, which recognized him as an outstanding Filipino who, through his vision accompanied by commitment, hard work, passion, and perseverance, founded the country's leading financial conglomerate. Said resolution states that success was not complete for Ty unless it touched the lives of Filipinos that led him to establish the Metrobank Foundation.

The Resolution honoring Ty was received by Metrobank Foundation President Aniceto Sobrepeña; Atty. Al Miguel Leogardo, Vice President, Rotary Club of Makati; Rolando Ramirez, past President, Rotary Club of Makati Metro; John Paul Montero, President, Rotary Club of New Manila East; and Claro Balde, past Chairman, Rotary Club of New Manila East. | Joselito Menorca and Eddie Galvez, News and Documentation Section-Press and Public Affairs Bureau/ House of Representatives of the Philippines