Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



11 September 2018 03:56:54 PM

Former President and now House Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo today attended the hearing of the Committee on Justice, chaired by Rep. Doy Leachon (1st District, Oriental Mindoro), which ruled that the impeachment complaints against Supreme Court Chief Justice Teresita Leonardo-de Castro and six associate justices were insufficient in substance. Under the Constitution, sufficiency in substance is met if the recital of facts constitutes the offense charge and determinative of the jurisdiction of the committee. The impeachment complaints, filed by Reps. Edcel Lagman (1st District , Albay), Gary Alejano (Party-list, MAGDALO), and Teddy Baguilat Jr. (Lone District, Ifugao), allege that de Castro, Associate Justices Diosdado Peralta, Lucas Bersamin, Francis Jardeleza, Noel Tijam, Andres Reyes Jr. and Alexander Gesmundo committed culpable violation of the Constitution and betrayal of public trust for their involvement in the quo warranto petition filed against former Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno. Also present were Reps. Ron Salo, Vicente Veloso, Rodante Marcoleta, Henry Oaminal, Strike Revilla, Anthony Bravo, Jesulito Manalo, and Alfredo Garbin, among others. | Pecto Camero / Czarina Engracia