Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



08 March 2018 06:50:08 PM

With a 38-2 vote, the House committee on justice on Thursday ruled to impeach Supreme Court Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno. The panel tasked vice chairpersons Reps. Vicente Veloso, Doy Leachon, Henry Oaminal, Arnulfo Fuentebella, and Strike Revilla to form the small working body that will craft the committee report and articles of impeachment to be submitted to the plenary on March 14 for deliberation and approval. Among the 38 who voted in favor of finding probable cause to remove Sereno from office are Deputy Speaker Gwendolyn Garcia, Reps. Rodel Batocabe, Anthony Bravo, Aurelio Gonzales, Jr, Alfredo Garbin, Jr., Juan Pablo Bondoc, Vincent Crisologo, and Ramon Rocamora. Those who voted against are Reps. Jose Christopher Belmonte and Kaka Bag-ao. According to committee chairman Rep. Reynaldo Umali, the representatives may explain their votes during the plenary session. The panel also approved the de-classification of testimonies and documents shared in the three-hour executive session which dwelled on the psychiatric evaluation of Sereno as part of her application to be Chief Justice. (CMB Engracia/P Camero)