Back to Top


SOURCE: Committee Management Support Service I


Unless otherwise indicated, all committee meeting venues are located at the House of Representatives Complex.

23-JUNE-2020 • TUESDAY
Committee/Sub-CommitteeTime and Venue
01:00 PM
HRep Session Hall and Virtual Meeting via Zoom (To be livestreamed on the official Facebook pages of the HRep and of Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano)
HBs 6694 & 6901 – Granting ABS-CBN Corporation (formerly ABS-CBN Broadcasting Corporation) a franchise to construct, install, operate and maintain radio and television broadcasting stations in the Philippines (Reps. Rufus Rodriguez and Ron Salo)

HBs 676, 3521, 3713, 3947, 4305, 5608, 5705, 5753, 6052, 6138 & 6293 – Renewing for another 25 years the franchise granted to ABS-CBN Corporation under RA 7966 (Rep. Micaela Violago, Deputy Speaker Rose Marie ‘Baby’ Arenas, Reps. Joy Myra Tambunting, Sol Aragones, Deputy Speakers Vilma Santos-Recto and Aurelio ‘Dong’ Gonzales Jr., Reps. Rufus Rodriguez, Josephine Ramirez-Sato, Carlos Isagani Zarate, Mark Go, and Deputy Speaker Loren Legarda)

HR 639 – Urging the Committee on Legislative Franchises to report out without further delay for plenary action a consolidated version of eight pending bills proposing for the renewal for another 25 years of the legislative franchise of ABS-CBN Corporation (Rep. Edcel Lagman)

HR 839 - Condemning the issuance by the National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) of a cease and desist order against ABS-CBN in wanton disregard of its commitment to both Houses of Congress to grant the broadcasting network a provisional authority to operate pending renewal of its franchise (Rep. Lawrence 'Law' Fortun)

HR 846 – Calling on the appropriate House committees to investigate and file criminal cases as warranted against the Commissioners and officers of the NTC and the Solicitor General and such other officials and individuals for perjury and for violation of the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees and the Anti-Graft and Corrupt Practices Act and other applicable laws (Rep. Michael Defensor)

HR 853 – Inquiry into the probable violations of ABS-CBN Corporation of its legislative franchise under RA 7966 (Deputy Speaker Paolo Duterte)

HR 863 - Urging the House of Representatives, through the Committee on Legislative Franchises, to admonish the NTC on its failure to comply with their commitment under oath and to conduct an inquiry, in aid of legislation, on the same and on possible measures to be taken on the matter (Rep. Edgar Mary Sarmiento)

Show cause order issued by the Committee on Legislative Franchises to the NTC


A. On the alleged violations of Republic Act 7966 or the ABS-CBN franchise

1. Using multiple channels in one franchise without NTC permit:
a. Whether or not ABS-CBN violated the terms of its franchise by offering its TV plus boxes for a one-time fee but using the free-to-air signal granted through its franchise and at no cost to it;
b. Whether or not ABS-CBN violated the terms of its franchise by offering pay-per-view (PPV) in its TV plus boxes channels using the free-to-air signal granted through its franchise and at no cost to it;
c. Whether or not the bills filed for the ABS-CBN franchise application containing “multiple channels” is an implicit admission of the violation of its previous franchise’s “one franchise, one channel” provision

B. On the alleged unfair labor practices
01:00 PM
Virtual Meeting via Zoom
Substitute Bill to HBs 378, 390, 907, 1055, 1107, 1391, 1682, 2872, 3098, 3199, 3415, 3526, 4067, 4373, 4895, 4986, 5414, 5135, 5382, 5717 & 6360 – Amending RA 10868, or the law honoring and granting additional benefits and privileges to Filipino centenarians (Reps. Manuel ‘Way Kurat’ Zamora, Ma. Lourdes Arroyo, Sonny ‘SL’ Lagon, Dahlia Loyola, Jose Atienza Jr., Mark Go, Deputy Speaker Luis Raymund 'LRay' Villafuerte Jr., Reps. Jocelyn Fortuno, Strike Revilla, Carlito Marquez, Ronaldo Zamora, Diego ‘Nonoy’ Ty, Alfred Delos Santos, Julienne ‘Jam’ Baronda, Eric Go Yap, Tyrone Agabas, John Marvin 'Yul Servo' Nieto, Manuel Cabochan III, Raul ‘Boboy’ Tupas, Francisco Datol Jr., and Maria Fe Abunda)

HBs 65, 1313, 1504, 1753, 2212, 4406 & 5137 – Protecting senior citizen from violence, defining elder abuse, and prescribing penalties therefor (Reps. Victor Yap, Wes Gatchalian, Alfredo Garbin Jr., Deputy Speaker Luis Raymund ‘LRay’ Villafuerte Jr., Reps. Sol Aragones, Eric Go Yap, and Eric Olivarez)

HBs 1428 & 5943 – Providing for eligibility requirements of the Head of the Office for Senior Citizens Affairs (OSCA), further amending for the purpose Section 6 of RA 7342, otherwise known as the Expanded Senior Citizens Act of 2010 (Reps. Luis Campos Jr. and Francisco G. Datol Jr.)

HB 3696 – Establishing a senior citizens' grievance desk in every barangay (Rep.Precious Hipolito Castelo)

Last Updated: 13-July-2020, 09:29:10 PM