17-February-2020, Monday

Prepared/Updated as of: 29-November-2020, 06:30:58 PM

09:30 AM

HBs 1193 & 1266 – Establishing the Philippine Energy Research and Policy Institute, defining its objectives, powers and functions, and appropriating funds therefor (Rep. Lord Allan Jay Velasco and Deputy Speaker Luis Raymund ‘LRay’ Villafuerte Jr.)
09:30 AM

HB 3695 – Mandating the adoption of on-line payment scheme at the Bureau of Customs (BOC) and prescribing penalties for violation thereof (Rep. Precious Hipolito Castelo)

HB 4742 – Amending RA 7103, otherwise known as the Iron and Steel Industry Act, providing for stiffer penalties and sanctions (Deputy Speaker Michael Romero Ph.D.)

Update on the status of the recommendation to suspend the implementation of the National Valuation Verification System (NVVS)

Technical Working Group meeting on HR 556 – Inquiry into the unabated smuggling of goods into the country by unscrupulous operators of customs bonded warehouses to the detriment of local manufacturers and producers and the Philippine economy, with the end in view of recommending measures to stop smuggling using the warehousing system by revisiting the provisions of the Customs Modernization Tariff Act on bonded warehouses and limiting the type, nature, and number of bonded warehouses (Deputy Speaker Prospero Pichay Jr.)
01:00 PM

Organizational meeting

Briefing by Presidential Adviser for Flagship Programs and Projects Secretary Vince Dizon relative to the country’s flagship programs and projects

Briefing by National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Secretary Ernesto Pernia relative to the process on program identification and approval being observed by the NEDA-Investment Coordination Committee
01:30 PM

HB 319 – Upholding and promoting campus journalism and campus press freedom, repealing for the purpose RA 7079 or the law providing for the development and promotion of campus journalism, penalizing violations against campus press freedom (Rep. Sarah Jane Elago)

HR 110 – Upholding the institutional autonomy of student governments/councils and student publications (Rep. Sarah Jane Elago)

HB 5094 – Promoting graduate studies and life-long learning in the Philippines (Rep. Gabriel Bordado Jr.)

HBs 5856, 5942, 5950, 5979-5981, 5994 & 6062 – Establishing Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) training centers in certain parts of the country (Reps. Solomon Chungalao, Jose ‘Jun’ Ong Jr., Angelo Marcos Barba, ‘Kuya’ Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado, Isagani Amatong, and Roger Mercado)

HB 5571 – Establishing the Nueva Ecija University of Science and Technology (NEUST) academic extension campus in the Municipality of Sto. Domingo, Province of Nueva Ecija and appropriating funds therefor (Rep. Estrellita Suansing)

HB 5885 – Integrating the Palawan State University - College of Community Resources Development (PSU-CCRD) external campuses in the Province of Palawan and in the City of Puerto Princesa as regular campuses of the Palawan State University (PSU), amending for the purpose RA 7818, and appropriating funds therefor (Rep. Cyrille ‘Beng’ Abueg-Zaldivar)

HBs 5957-59 – Establishing the Davao del Norte State College academic extension campuses in the Island Garden City of Samal and in the Municipalities of Carmen and Sto. Tomas, respectively, Province of Davao del Norte (Rep. Alan ‘Aldu’ Dujali)

Confirmation of Meetings shall be done through sending of Notices of Meetings to Committee Members by their respective Committee secretariat staff.

Committee Management Support Service I, Committee Affairs Department
House of Representatives
Contact Nos: 89326118, 89315001 (Local: 7122)
Email Address: