Back to Top




JURISDICTION: All matters directly and principally relating to post-secondary and tertiary education, technical education, distance education, students' and teachers' welfare, and centers of excellence.


Hon. Hofer, Ann K.
Hon. Hofer, Ann K.

District Representative
Zamboanga Sibugay, 2nd District


MEMBERS : 65 Members


3/F RVM Building, House of Representatives, Quezon City
Telephone no. 9315001 local 7145, Telefax no. 931-5795
Committee Secretary: Ms. Frances Melanie Mauricio

SOURCE: Committee on Rules (Committee Membership) : BIS (Bills Referred) : Committee Affairs Department (Schedule of Meetings) : Engineering Division (Committees' Location/Telephone) : ICTS (Website Maintenance)



Unless otherwise indicated, all committee meeting venues are located at the House of Representatives Complex.

Select Week

Committee/Sub-CommitteeTime and Venue
Agenda/Resource PersonHIGHER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION (Technical Working Group)09:30 AM
Conf. Rm. 5 RVM Bldg.
Technical Working Group meeting on HB 2819 – Establishing a voluntary student loan program by banks and government financial institutions (Rep. Estrellita Suansing)
Committee/Sub-CommitteeTime and Venue
Spkr. Belmonte Hall 1/F SWA Bldg.
HB 2354 – Authorizing higher education curriculum development and graduate training in advance energy and green building technologies (Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo)

HB 5908 – Mandating the integration of the National Building Code of the Philippines as one of the subjects in Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Sanitary Engineering, and Architecture (Rep. Aurelio ‘Dong’ Gonzales Jr.)

HR 1217 – Inquiry into the appropriateness and currentness of our civil engineering curriculum, with particular intention to earthquake design, in order to determine its need to be updated in response to recent stronger earthquakes that hit parts of the world and ensure that our building designs will be able to factor-in and withstand earthquakes and magnitudes greater than 7 on the Richter Scale (Rep. Aurelio ‘Dong’ Gonzales Jr.)

Substitute Bill to HB 241 – Converting the Oroquieta Agro-Industrial School (OAIS) in the City of Oroquieta, Province of Misamis Occidental into a state college to be known as the Misamis Occidental State College (MOSC), repealing for the purpose RA 4941 and appropriating funds therefor (Rep. Jorge Almonte)

HB 2978 – Establishing the Masbate Institute of Fisheries and Technology-Ticao Island Campus in the Province of Masbate and appropriating funds therefor (Rep. Maria Vida Bravo)

HB 5261 – Establishing a polytechnic state college in the Municipality of Aliaga, Province of Nueva Ecija to be known as the Aliaga Polytechnic State College and appropriating funds therefor (Rep. Estrellita Suansing)

HB 6541 – Extending the deadline for compliance of the Palompon Institute of Technology with the requirements of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) for conversion into a state university, thereby amending RA 10599 and appropriating funds therefor (Rep. Lucy Gomez)

HB 6552 – Establishing additional campuses of the Compostela Valley State College in certain municipalities of Compostela Valley, thereby amending RA 10598 and appropriating funds therefor (Speaker Pantaleon ‘Bebot’ Alvarez)

HR 1119 – Conferring the congressional medal of achievement to Amado Gabriel Esteban Ph.D., for his outstanding achievement in the field of public higher education and bringing honor and prestige to the Philippines as president of two major academic institutions in the United States of America (Rep. Salvador Belaro Jr.)

HR 1383 – Recognizing the exemplary achievement of the University of Northern Philippines (UNP) for producing topnotchers in the field of medicine, namely, Dr. Love Patel and Dr. Nirav Prajapati (Rep. Deogracias Victor ‘DV’ Savellano)